No. 56
Plant of the month: September
Pawpaw
Asimina triloba
Fruit ripe fruit (pulp only)
Drawing: Britton & Brown, Illustrated Flora (1913)
- Find
- Common in the right habitat
- Effort
- Grab & eat
- ID risk
- Beginner
- Origin
- native
- Safety marks
- Toxic parts
- Uses
- Eat raw / salad
- Baking & desserts
- Jam & jelly
- Juice & drinks
- Wine & spirits
- Dried fruit & leather
Season
- Jan
- Feb
- Mar
- Apr
- May
- Jun
- Jul
- Aug
- Sep
- Oct
- Nov
- Dec
in season peak
What these mean
Find
1 Everywhere · 2 Common in the right habitat · 3 Patchy · 4 Elusive. This is about how much there is, not whether you may pick it. It is based on iNaturalist sightings within 25 km (about 15 miles) of downtown DC, counted on October 3, 2026. The four rules that each plant’s “Find” reason refers to: (A) the estimate is the confirmed sightings, plus the unconfirmed ones (scaled down where the plant has lookalikes in its genus), plus the sightings marked as planted; (B) the tier by estimate: 1,500 or more is tier 1, 250–1,499 tier 2, 50–249 tier 3, under 50 tier 4; (C) tier 1, Everywhere, also needs a source saying the plant is common in lawns, sidewalks, yards or gardens, vacant lots or towns, or at least one DC street tree of it per km of sidewalk, otherwise it is tier 2; (D) if a reliable source says the plant is rare in this region, or that wild plants rarely bear the harvest, only planted sightings count. iNaturalist is a website and phone app where people post photos of the plants and animals they see. A sighting is “research grade” when other users have confirmed what it is; “needs ID” sightings are not confirmed yet, and “cultivated” ones are marked as planted.
Effort
1 Grab & eat · 2 Quick kitchen prep (under about 30 minutes) · 3 Real work (hours, or cooking needed for safety) · 4 Project (days or equipment). Scored on the simplest worthwhile use; each plant’s page says why.
ID risk
How hard it is to harvest safely. Beginner: no dangerous lookalike, and the edible part is not easily confused with a toxic part. Careful: a toxic lookalike, or toxic parts that end up in the harvest unless removed (for example elderberry stems, unripe ground cherries), or other parts of the plant rated medium-or-higher toxicity, with reliable features to separate them. Expert only: a potentially deadly lookalike that is hard to separate, or (for not-recommended harvests like pokeweed) a plant whose safe preparation can’t be guaranteed. Toxic parts that are obviously separate and thrown away anyway (pits, seeds, skins) don’t raise it; the Toxic parts mark carries that warning.
Native or not, and the invader stars
Origin is where the plant comes from: native, non-native, or mixed (the harvest covers both). The stars rate plants on invasive plant lists: ★★★ Virginia DCR “High” or Maryland prohibited invasive · ★★ Virginia “Medium” · ★ Virginia “Low” · ☆ listed only by the Maryland Invasive Species Council or the Mid-Atlantic Plant Invaders guide (advisory) · no stars: native or not listed.
Safety marks and flags
Deadly lookalike / Toxic lookalike: a cited source names a lookalike of that danger. Deadly means a source says eating it may be fatal or calls it deadly, or NC State rates it high severity with life-threatening symptoms (sources sometimes disagree; for example Virginia creeper). Each plant’s Lookalikes list says how to tell them apart; “harmless (may be edible)” lookalikes are listed so you know a mix-up isn’t dangerous. Cook first: cooking is needed for safety (for daylilies it is a precaution, not a sourced requirement). Eat in moderation: a source says to limit quantity or frequency (for example oxalates in sorrels and dock, ginkgotoxin, safrole). Spray risk: a source says the plant is commonly treated with herbicide in parks or lawns (invasive control, lawn weeds) or, for ginkgo, sprayed to stop fruiting. Contamination: a source says the plant concentrates pollutants. Each plant’s Safety flags list gives the details and sources.
Seasons
Start, peak and end are given in thirds of a month: early, mid or late. A plant counts as in season for a month if it is in season at any point in that month. Some greens and roots have a second window, in spring or fall; their page shows each window. A season that runs across New Year is shown as one window.
What it looks like
A small understory tree with large, drooping, tropical-looking leaves. It bears the largest native fruit in North America: green, potato-shaped fruits, often in clusters, with soft golden custard-like flesh around two rows of big brown seeds. The flavor is often compared to banana mixed with mango, and the fruit has a strong fruity smell when ripe.
Safety
Eat only the pulp. The seeds and skin contain alkaloids that cause vomiting, so do not eat them (Clemson; Maryland DNR also says the seeds and skin are inedible). Some people react to pawpaw, so try a small amount first (Maryland DNR). Some people also react to touching the fruit, so consider gloves (MDC). No dangerous tree-fruit lookalike in the DC area.
Safety flags
Allergen
Maryland DNR: some people are allergic to pawpaw, so try only a little at first.
- Pawpaw (HGIC factsheet) Clemson Cooperative Extension
- Habichat: Paw-Paw Maryland Department of Natural Resources
- Wild Edibles of Missouri (Jan Phillips) Missouri Department of Conservation
Handling hazard (minor)
irritant sap/pulp: MDC: pawpaw fruits cause allergic reactions in some people from eating or touching them; consider gloves.
- Pawpaw (HGIC factsheet) Clemson Cooperative Extension
- Habichat: Paw-Paw Maryland Department of Natural Resources
- Wild Edibles of Missouri (Jan Phillips) Missouri Department of Conservation
Toxic parts
Seeds and green skin contain emetic alkaloids that cause vomiting; eat only the pulp (Clemson).
- Pawpaw (HGIC factsheet) Clemson Cooperative Extension
- Habichat: Paw-Paw Maryland Department of Natural Resources
- Wild Edibles of Missouri (Jan Phillips) Missouri Department of Conservation
Safety marks and flags: what this means
Deadly lookalike / Toxic lookalike: a cited source names a lookalike of that danger. Deadly means a source says eating it may be fatal or calls it deadly, or NC State rates it high severity with life-threatening symptoms (sources sometimes disagree; for example Virginia creeper). Each plant’s Lookalikes list says how to tell them apart; “harmless (may be edible)” lookalikes are listed so you know a mix-up isn’t dangerous. Cook first: cooking is needed for safety (for daylilies it is a precaution, not a sourced requirement). Eat in moderation: a source says to limit quantity or frequency (for example oxalates in sorrels and dock, ginkgotoxin, safrole). Spray risk: a source says the plant is commonly treated with herbicide in parks or lawns (invasive control, lawn weeds) or, for ginkgo, sprayed to stop fruiting. Contamination: a source says the plant concentrates pollutants. Each plant’s Safety flags list gives the details and sources.
- ID risk
- Beginner
- Why
- No dangerous tree-fruit lookalike in the DC area; the toxic seeds and skin are large and obviously separate from the custard-like pulp.
- Handling hazards
- Irritant sap/pulp (minor)
- Soil risk
- low
ID risk: what this means
How hard it is to harvest safely. Beginner: no dangerous lookalike, and the edible part is not easily confused with a toxic part. Careful: a toxic lookalike, or toxic parts that end up in the harvest unless removed (for example elderberry stems, unripe ground cherries), or other parts of the plant rated medium-or-higher toxicity, with reliable features to separate them. Expert only: a potentially deadly lookalike that is hard to separate, or (for not-recommended harvests like pokeweed) a plant whose safe preparation can’t be guaranteed. Toxic parts that are obviously separate and thrown away anyway (pits, seeds, skins) don’t raise it; the Toxic parts mark carries that warning.
Handling hazards: what this means
Stings, thorns, irritating or phototoxic sap, staining hulls and spiny husks, with a severity: minor = brief discomfort; moderate = rash or blisters lasting days; serious = burns, scarring or medical care possible.
Soil risk: what this means
Based on the part you eat, following the urban-soil lead guidance on the Field safety page: higher for greens, shoots and roots; moderate for flowers; low for fruit, nuts and sap.
Field safety for every outing (poison ivy, ticks, soil, and more)
When to pick
- Starts
- late Aug
- Peak
- early Sep–mid Sep
- Ends
- mid Oct
Pawpaws ripen from the end of August or early September (Maryland DNR, 2018), most often in the first to third weeks of September (Maryland DNR, 2025). The National Park Service says the fruit begins to ripen in late summer and peaks in September and October, and the C&O Canal Trust also gives September and October. Some years run early: in 2024 the season peaked by the end of August (Washingtonian). Around DC, iNaturalist fruiting records peak from late August to mid-September and drop off sharply during the first week of October. A ripe fruit gives slightly when squeezed, like a peach, comes off with a gentle tug, and smells fruity (Kentucky State University). Many ripe fruits simply drop, so check the ground under fruiting trees (National Park Service). Color change is not a reliable sign of ripeness (Kentucky State University); Clemson describes the skin going from light green to yellowish at peak ripeness and black when overripe.
How the dates were worked out
Every start, peak and end was re-checked in October 2026. “Sourced” means a source opened during the check states that timing for the DC or Mid-Atlantic area. “Estimated” means no source states it exactly; the reason, the evidence and the source links are under “How the dates were worked out” on each plant’s page. Peaks are often estimated, because few sources name a peak. iNaturalist evidence means research-grade sightings near DC, by month, of the plant at that stage (for example, in fruit). iNaturalist is a website and phone app where people post photos of the plants and animals they see. A sighting is “research grade” when other users have confirmed what it is; “needs ID” sightings are not confirmed yet, and “cultivated” ones are marked as planted.
Season basis: estimated: end
Start
sourced
Peak
sourced
End
estimated: NPS and the C&O Canal Trust include October but do not say how late; mid Oct is where regional iNaturalist fruiting records drop to near zero.
Evidence
start: Maryland DNR (2018): pawpaws ripen 'at the end of August/beginning of September'. Washingtonian (2024): that year the season 'peaked by the end of August'. iNaturalist DC fruiting records rise sharply in weeks 35-36 (late Aug-early Sep: 53, 41). | peak: Maryland DNR (2025): pawpaws 'generally become ripe in the first through third weeks of September in Maryland'. iNaturalist DC fruiting records peak in weeks 35-37 (53, 41, 25), i.e. late Aug to mid Sep. | end: NPS (National Capital Region): fruit 'peaks in September and October'; C&O Canal Trust: ripens 'in September and October'. iNaturalist: DC fruiting records fall from 9-10/week in late Sep to 2 in the first week of Oct (Oct total 4; latest DC records Oct 8 and Oct 23); MD/VA/DC records: 30 (Oct 1-7), 13 (Oct 8-14), 3 (Oct 15-21).
- Habichat: Paw-Paw Maryland Department of Natural Resources
- Pawpaw Season Is Here. Where to Taste DC’s “Tropical” Fruit—and Pick Them (2024) Washingtonian
- api.inaturalist.org/v1/observations/histogram
- Native Plant Profile: Favored Fruit Trees Maryland Department of Natural Resources
- Pawpaw: Small Tree, Big Impact National Park Service, National Capital Region
- There’s Nothing Like Pawpaw Season C&O Canal Trust
- Pawpaw research-grade observations Maryland, Virginia and DC, by week (fruiting annotation) iNaturalist
- Pawpaw research-grade observations within 25 km of DC, with photos (fruiting annotation) iNaturalist
Where to look
Floodplain understory along the C&O Canal towpath (e.g., Carderock up to Great Falls MD), where picking is allowed; it is also abundant on Theodore Roosevelt Island and in Rock Creek Park, but picking is banned there.
- Habitats
- floodplain & stream-valley forest
Habitats: what this means
Listed where the plant’s own sources place it in that habitat. “Disturbed ground & waste places” means a cited source places it on disturbed areas, sites, soil or ground, on waste places or waste ground, on construction or abandoned building sites (old home sites count), on rubble or in strip mines. When the source gives examples of the disturbed places, at least one example must be of that kind. Examples that do not count: natural or forestry disturbance (treefall gaps, fire, windthrow, flood scour, old riverbanks and creeks, clear-cuts); roadsides, railroads and rights-of-way; and abandoned fields, pastures and farmland, which are “Old fields & meadows”. “Vacant lots” only where a source says vacant or empty lots.
Most-logged places
You may pick here
- C&O Canal NHP (towpath, Georgetown to Great Falls MD and beyond)
Legal to pick under the C&O Canal compendium (by hand, personal use, daily limit; trail-side only at Great Falls MD). Of these, 102 are at Carderock.
No picking here (4 places)
- Theodore Roosevelt Island
Look but don’t pick: GW Memorial Parkway sites (incl. Great Falls VA, Theodore Roosevelt Island, Dyke Marsh) designate nothing for gathering.
- Rock Creek Park
Look but don’t pick: Rock Creek Park’s compendium bans gathering any fruit, nut, berry, seed or greenery.
- Great Falls Park (VA)
Look but don’t pick: GW Memorial Parkway sites (incl. Great Falls VA, Theodore Roosevelt Island, Dyke Marsh) designate nothing for gathering.
- Riverbend Park
Look but don’t pick: Fairfax County parks ban removing any plant part without written permission.
Most-logged places: what this means
The places with the most research-grade iNaturalist sightings within 25 km of downtown DC (re-counted in October 2026 over every named place, campuses, condominiums and private grounds included), each marked legal to pick or not. A sighting inside several named places counts once, for the smallest of them, but a sighting inside a National Park Service park never counts for a private, campus or unchecked place. iNaturalist shows where people walk and log plants, not true abundance. Private campuses, condominiums, museums, estates and utility land (Pepco’s power-line land near Sligo Creek) are marked “no” (pick only with the owner’s permission); public university campuses, city parks and other places whose picking rules were not checked (county stormwater land, the U.S. Capitol Grounds, Greenbelt’s North Woods, federal facilities such as the National Zoo) are “unknown”. A place needs at least 2 sightings, so plants with very few sightings (rugosa rose) have no places. No most-logged places are named for at-risk plants (ramps, chinquapin, American chestnut); chinquapin’s page names Mason Neck State Park, where picking is legal, and asks you to leave most nuts. For some places, mostly Rock Creek Park, the iNaturalist map shows more sightings than the count here, because a map link cannot leave out exactly the sightings credited to another place. iNaturalist is a website and phone app where people post photos of the plants and animals they see. A sighting is “research grade” when other users have confirmed what it is; “needs ID” sightings are not confirmed yet, and “cultivated” ones are marked as planted.
Where you may pick
C&O Canal NHP allows hand-gathering of pawpaws for personal use, up to 1/2 gallon per person per day. No commercial use, and do not damage the plant. Rock Creek Park and the DC park units it runs ban all gathering. Leave plenty behind: many mammals eat the fruit, and pawpaw is the host plant for zebra swallowtail caterpillars.
- Best legal spot
- C&O Canal NHP (1336 obs)
- C&O Canal NHP (incl. Great Falls MD, trail-side only)
C&O Canal compendium (eff. Sept. 11, 2026) 2.1(c)(1), daily per-person limits: pawpaws: 1/2 gallon
- National Capital Parks-East (listed sites only)
NACE 2026 compendium 2.1(c)(1), (c)(2)(ii): designated items are blueberries, blackberries, grapes, pawpaws, raspberries, walnuts and apples (apples not at Oxon Hill Farm), in amounts under one quart, at seven listed areas; covers pawpaws
- Prince William Forest Park
PRWI compendium (May 29, 2026) 36 CFR 2.1 'Plant Collection': 'pawpaw (Asimina triloba)'
- Virginia State Parks
4VAC5-30-50 bars gathering any plant without a permit, except that edible fruits, berries, fungi or nuts may be collected for personal or individual use; pawpaw is an edible fruit
Where you may pick: what this means
For each park system: “yes” where its current rules (the park’s compendium or regulation) allow this plant or part, with the limit; “ambiguous” where the wording may or may not cover it, so ask the park; “no” where it is not allowed. Rock Creek Park, the GW Parkway sites (including Great Falls VA and Theodore Roosevelt Island), the National Mall, Montgomery and Prince George’s parks, Maryland state parks, and Fairfax and Arlington parks prohibit picking. Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts allows blackberries and raspberries (one gallon per person per day) and chestnuts (one gallon per person per day). National Park Service rules are reissued every year; other parks change theirs from time to time, so check the park’s current rules. The Where you may pick page has every park’s rules.
Ways to use it
- eat fresh: cut in half and scoop out the pulp with a spoon; discard skin and seeds
- substitute for banana in quick breads, cakes and cookies
- ice cream, custards, pies and milkshakes
- freeze pulp: freeze spoonfuls on a cookie sheet, then bag them (KSU). Pureed pulp freezes well (Clemson)
- fermented into beer, wine or brandy
- dried as fruit leather, for example blended with strawberries (Penn State)
- freezer jam made with powdered pectin, kept refrigerated or frozen (Penn State; see Keeping for the one acidified canning exception)
Keeping
Within 3-5 days of picking ripe fruit, eat it or freeze the pulp; do NOT water-bath can plain pawpaw pulp or purée, because Penn State says there are no research-based canning recipes (KSU’s acidified jam is the only exception).
- Use within
- within a few days
- Keeps fresh
- Ripe fruit keeps only 3-5 days at room temperature; refrigerated, ripe fruit keeps about a week (Purdue; Clemson says up to 3 weeks at good eating quality). Fruit picked just before full ripeness can be refrigerated up to 3 weeks, then finished on the counter. Never eat skin or seeds.
- Canning
- extension recipe: acidified jam, only with a pH meter reading below 3.8 (Kentucky State). Penn State: no research-based canning recipes; freezer jam is the safe default
- Keeping basis
- specific to this plant
Ways to keep it
Dry as researched: dry/dehydrate; canning: n/a (not shelf-canned)
As fruit leather, for example blended with strawberries (Penn State); follow NCHFP fruit-leather directions.
Ferment as researched: ferment/wine; canning: n/a (not shelf-canned)
Clemson notes pawpaw makes a flavorful fruit wine.
Freeze as researched: freeze pulp; canning: n/a (not shelf-canned)
Scoop the pulp, discard skin and seeds, purée or freeze spoonfuls on a cookie sheet and then bag them (KSU). Label with amount and date; use within about 12 months (Penn State, Purdue).
Jam/jelly as researched: jam/jelly; canning: extension recipe: acidified jam, only with a pH meter reading below 3.8 (Kentucky State) — follow exactly
Freezer jam made with powdered pectin keeps up to 3 weeks in the fridge or 12 months frozen (Penn State). Penn State: there are no research-based recipes for canning pawpaws. Kentucky State publishes an acidified jam process (citric acid plus pectin, 10-minute water bath) that is safe only if you confirm the pH is below 3.8 with a calibrated pH meter; without one, make freezer jam.
Canning: what this means
Shelf-stable canning, three levels. Lab-tested: a lab-tested recipe from the National Center for Home Food Preservation (NCHFP) or Oregon State covers this fruit and product, or a generic recipe for its kind (the line says so, for example chokeberry). Extension recipe: a published Extension recipe (University of Alaska Fairbanks, written for Alaska species; University of Maine’s dandelion jelly), or a process that is safe only with a pH meter; follow it exactly, never improvise. No tested recipe: refrigerate or freeze, don’t can. “Hot-bottled syrup” = maple and walnut syrup, which keep when bottled hot at full syrup density. The Canning line names the exact product each source covers, for example “whole berries” or “juice”; a product not named there (such as juice from a berry with only a whole-berry recipe) has no tested recipe.
Keeping basis: what this means
“Specific to this plant” or “general guidance for its type” (for example NCHFP guidance for leafy greens applied to a wild green).
Nutrition
How much of a day’s needs one standard serving (140 g) provides, using the FDA’s daily values and serving sizes. The FDA calls 20% or more “high” and 10–19% a “good source”. Every figure below is listed with its source; where the sources disagree, all of them are shown and no conclusion is drawn.
Vitamin C: the analyses differ
USDA 2025: 43% of daily value
Sample: Asimina triloba (USDA’s species tag: Asimina triloba), 'Pawpaw, peeled, seeded, raw' (pulp, skin and seeds removed), cultivated: 7 orchard samples bought Aug 18 - Oct 7 2024 from growers in MI, MD, KY ('KT' in USDA’s data), IN, NC, OH, PA; named cultivars on 5 of 7 samples: 'Shenandoah', 'NC-1', 'Rhapahannock' [sic], 'Wabash', 'Hanna'; 7 data points
Recorded: 27.6 mg (per 100 g pulp (peeled, seeded), raw). Working: 27.6 mg per 100 g × 140 g ÷ 100 = 38.64 mg; daily value 90 mg; 43%.
Pawpaw, peeled, seeded, raw (FDC ID 2727577, NDB 100382), published 2025-04-24
Nam et al. 2018: 2% of daily value
Sample: Asimina triloba, cultivated, farm near Okchon, South Korea, Sept 2016; fruit 150-300 g from 25-30 trees aged 8-10 years; fruits peeled and seeds removed (column 'Fruit' = fruit pulp); cultivar not stated; stored at -70 °C; number analyzed: 3
Recorded: 0.98 mg/100 g FW (per 100 g fresh weight of fruit pulp (peeled, seeds removed), raw). Working: 0.98 mg per 100 g × 140 g ÷ 100 = 1.372 mg; daily value 90 mg; 2%.
Pande & Akoh 2010: 15% of daily value
Sample: Asimina triloba, fruits 'collected randomly from different cultivars at the university experimental farm, Tifton, GA', harvested at optimum ripeness; cultivars and year not stated; triplicate analyses (mean ± SD)
Recorded: 9.8 mg (per 100 g fresh weight (FW) of pulp (edible portion; peel and seeds analyzed separately)). Working: 9.8 mg per 100 g × 140 g ÷ 100 = 13.72 mg; daily value 90 mg; 15%.
Folate: high
Unconfirmed: only one analysis, and it would rank 1 of 88 raw fruits in USDA SR Legacy.
USDA 2025: 41% of daily value
Sample: Asimina triloba (USDA’s species tag: Asimina triloba), 'Pawpaw, peeled, seeded, raw' (pulp, skin and seeds removed), cultivated: 7 orchard samples bought Aug 18 - Oct 7 2024 from growers in MI, MD, KY ('KT' in USDA’s data), IN, NC, OH, PA; named cultivars on 5 of 7 samples: 'Shenandoah', 'NC-1', 'Rhapahannock' [sic], 'Wabash', 'Hanna'; 7 data points
Recorded: 116.1 µg (per 100 g pulp (peeled, seeded), raw). Working: 116.1 µg per 100 g × 140 g ÷ 100 = 162.54 µg; daily value 400 µg; 41%.
Pawpaw, peeled, seeded, raw (FDC ID 2727577, NDB 100382), published 2025-04-24
Dietary fiber: the analyses differ
USDA 2025: 17% of daily value
Sample: Asimina triloba (USDA’s species tag: Asimina triloba), 'Pawpaw, peeled, seeded, raw' (pulp, skin and seeds removed), cultivated: 7 orchard samples bought Aug 18 - Oct 7 2024 from growers in MI, MD, KY ('KT' in USDA’s data), IN, NC, OH, PA; named cultivars on 5 of 7 samples: 'Shenandoah', 'NC-1', 'Rhapahannock' [sic], 'Wabash', 'Hanna'; 7 data points
Recorded: 3.3 g (per 100 g pulp (peeled, seeded), raw). Working: 3.3 g per 100 g × 140 g ÷ 100 = 4.62 g; daily value 28 g; 17%.
Pawpaw, peeled, seeded, raw (FDC ID 2727577, NDB 100382), published 2025-04-24
Brannan et al. 2021: 23% of daily value
Sample: Asimina triloba, cultivated, Fox Paw Farm, Adams County, Ohio, harvested Sept 2019; one fruit from each of 16 cultivars ('Estill', 'Green River Belle', 'IXL', 'KSU Atwood', 'Lynn’s Favorite', 'Mango', 'Mitchell', 'NC-1', 'Overleese', 'Pickle', 'Potomac', 'Quakers Delight', 'SAA-Zimmerman', 'SAB Overleese', 'Shenandoah', 'Wabash') pooled into 4 compositionally identical varietal composites; skin and seeds removed by hand; pulp held at -20 °C before analysis; 9 coded bags, each analyzed in triplicate (Q Laboratories; fiber by Medallion Labs)
Recorded: 4.5 g (per 100 g pulp (without skin), raw (frozen before analysis)). Working: 4.5 g per 100 g × 140 g ÷ 100 = 6.3 g; daily value 28 g; 23%.
A comparative analysis of pawpaw (Asimina triloba) quality and nutritional data
Nam et al. 2018: 15% of daily value
Sample: Asimina triloba, cultivated, farm near Okchon, South Korea, Sept 2016; fruit 150-300 g from 25-30 trees aged 8-10 years; fruits peeled and seeds removed (column 'Fruit' = fruit pulp); cultivar not stated; stored at -70 °C; number analyzed: 3
Recorded: 3.03 % fresh weight (per 100 g fresh weight of fruit pulp (peeled, seeds removed), raw). Working: 3.03 g per 100 g × 140 g ÷ 100 = 4.242 g; daily value 28 g; 15%.
Other figures, each under 10% of daily value (15)
- Brannan et al. 2021: Calcium 1%; Iron 2%; Potassium 6%
- Brannan et al. 2025: Vitamin A 6%
- Nam et al. 2018: Calcium 1%; Iron 2%; Magnesium 4%; Potassium 7%; Vitamin A 1%
- USDA 2025: Calcium 1%; Iron 1%; Magnesium 4%; Manganese 3%; Potassium 7%; Zinc 1%
Figures left out, and why (9 studies; 5 with no figure used)
The calendar counts a study with no figure used here when one of its vitamin, mineral or dietary fiber figures was left out as a dried sample, another part, or for an unclear species, part or basis; figures given per amount of juice are not counted.
- USDA 2025 (other figures from this study are used above): no FDA daily value; not measured in the cited work: USDA marks this value 'Summed' (AI’s explanation: sum of the measured individual sugars); not measured in the cited work: USDA marks this value 'Calculated' (AI’s explanation: from measured nitrogen); protein: the FDA percent daily value for protein must be corrected for protein quality (PDCAAS, 21 CFR 101.9(c)(7)(ii)), which this analysis does not report
- Brannan et al. 2021 (other figures from this study are used above): carbohydrate has an FDA daily value, but the panels show only vitamins, minerals and dietary fiber; no FDA daily value; not measured in the cited work: by difference: Tab. 5 row 'Carbohydrates (by difference)'; not measured in the cited work: calculated, not measured: Tab. 5 footnote 1 'KCal calculated from proximate analysis (moisture, lipid, protein, carbohydrate)'; text p. 128 'Kilocalories calculated from the proximates'; not measured in the cited work: calculated: Tab. 5 row 'Total Sugars (calculated)'; protein: the FDA percent daily value for protein must be corrected for protein quality (PDCAAS, 21 CFR 101.9(c)(7)(ii)), which this analysis does not report; total fat has an FDA daily value, but the panels show only vitamins, minerals and dietary fiber
- Nam et al. 2018 (other figures from this study are used above): carbohydrate has an FDA daily value, but the panels show only vitamins, minerals and dietary fiber; no FDA daily value; not measured in the cited work: by difference: 'The carbohydrate content was calculated as the weight of the entire sample less the moisture, crude ash, crude protein, and crude lipid' (Nam et al. 2018, methods); protein: the FDA percent daily value for protein must be corrected for protein quality (PDCAAS, 21 CFR 101.9(c)(7)(ii)), which this analysis does not report; total fat has an FDA daily value, but the panels show only vitamins, minerals and dietary fiber
- Peterson et al. 1982 (counted in the calendar): carbohydrate has an FDA daily value, but the panels show only vitamins, minerals and dietary fiber; no FDA daily value; not measured in the cited work: copied from Peterson, Cherry & Simmons 1982 (secondary: reproduced in Brannan et al. 2021 Tab. 5, column 'Pulp and Skin / PETERSON et al., 1982 / 100 g'; not measured by Brannan; primary not seen); not measured in the cited work: copied from Peterson, Cherry & Simmons 1982 via the KSU page (secondary reproduction; primary not seen); not measured in the cited work: not stated by the source; appears converted from the 87 IU value (87/10 = 8.7 for beta-carotene), i.e. not a separate measurement; copied from Peterson et al. 1982 via the KSU page; protein: the FDA percent daily value for protein must be corrected for protein quality (PDCAAS, 21 CFR 101.9(c)(7)(ii)), which this analysis does not report; round-1 source without a basis/part call; species, part or state not clear: Peterson et al. 1982 value as reproduced by Brannan et al. 2021 (secondary); pulp with skin; species, part or state not clear: species and raw state match, but the part analyzed was pulp with skin, not the pulp-only part in the dataset; secondary reproduction of a 1982 report that could not be read; total fat has an FDA daily value, but the panels show only vitamins, minerals and dietary fiber; unit not converted: RE (per 100 grams edible portion as stated, but analyzed as pulp WITH skin (Table 2 note a)); unit not converted: grams (per 100 grams edible portion as stated, but analyzed as pulp WITH skin (Table 2 note a)); unit not converted: milligrams (per 100 grams edible portion as stated, but analyzed as pulp WITH skin (Table 2 note a))
- Ito & Baba 1957: no FDA daily value; protein: the FDA percent daily value for protein must be corrected for protein quality (PDCAAS, 21 CFR 101.9(c)(7)(ii)), which this analysis does not report; species, part or state not clear: exact species; part (pulp only or whole fruit) and basis not stated in the table; total fat has an FDA daily value, but the panels show only vitamins, minerals and dietary fiber
- Grygorieva et al. 2021 (counted in the calendar): basis not clear: percent of the pulp material as analyzed; basis not stated (inferred dry basis, see dry matter 87.07 %); dry or dried basis: per kg dry weight of pulp material (text: "mg/kg DWP"); dry or dried basis: per kg of pulp material as analyzed; Table 2 states no basis; INFERRED dry basis: Table 1 gives total dry matter of the pulp material as 87.07 %, and the text gives tocopherol and oil on a dry-weight basis; dry or dried basis: percent of dry weight of the pulp material (stated in text: "dry weight plant material"); dry or dried basis: total dry matter of the pulp material as analyzed (not of fresh pulp); no FDA daily value; protein: the FDA percent daily value for protein must be corrected for protein quality (PDCAAS, 21 CFR 101.9(c)(7)(ii)), which this analysis does not report; species, part or state not clear: exact species and part; basis not stated (inferred dry); species, part or state not clear: exact species and part; basis not stated (inferred dry); measured as total carotenoids by spectrophotometry, expressed as beta-carotene; total carotenoids cannot be converted to vitamin A (µg RAE); total fat has an FDA daily value, but the panels show only vitamins, minerals and dietary fiber
- Ňorbová et al. 2023 (counted in the calendar): species, part or state not clear: exact species; peeled fruit, seed removal not stated
- de Moraes et al. 2020 (counted in the calendar): dry or dried basis: per g dry weight of lyophilized pulp (skin and seeds removed); moisture of the fresh pulp not reported
- Pande & Akoh 2010 (other figures from this study are used above): species, part or state not clear: exact species and part; total carotenoids by spectrophotometry (450 nm) expressed as beta-carotene equivalents, not beta-carotene itself; species, part or state not clear: exact species; part is fruit without seeds (pulp plus peel), not pulp only; species, part or state not clear: exact species; part is fruit without seeds (pulp plus peel); basis inferred by AI: fresh; total carotenoids cannot be converted to vitamin A (µg RAE); total fat has an FDA daily value, but the panels show only vitamins, minerals and dietary fiber
What was searched
- Europe PMC: searched 2026-10-09, 165 records; 161 after removing duplicates across databases; 1 candidates by title and abstract; 1 read in full; 1 with figures used
- PubMed: searched 2026-10-09, 44 records; 44 after removing duplicates across databases; 1 candidates by title and abstract; 1 read in full; 1 with figures used
- OpenAlex: searched 2026-10-09, 762 records; 756 after removing duplicates across databases; 8 candidates by title and abstract; 5 read in full; 4 with figures used
- Crossref: searched 2026-10-09, 148 records; 148 after removing duplicates across databases; 2 candidates by title and abstract; 2 read in full; 2 with figures used
- J-STAGE (Japan): searched 2026-10-09, 29 records; 29 after removing duplicates across databases; 1 candidates by title and abstract; 1 read in full; 1 with figures used
- USDA FoodData Central (online search): searched 2026-10-09, 1 records; 1 after removing duplicates across databases; 0 candidates by title and abstract; 0 read in full; 0 with figures used
- USDA FoodData Central (downloaded SR Legacy 2018 and Foundation 2026 tables): searched 2026-10-09, 1 records; 1 after removing duplicates across databases; 0 candidates by title and abstract; 0 read in full; 0 with figures used
- All databases together: 1150 records from all databases, 1005 unique, 9 candidates, 6 read, 5 used; 3 not read (paywalled 1, blocked automated access 0, not online 2)
- KCI (Korea), CNKI (China), SciELO (Latin America), CORE, USDA’s AGRICOLA and PubAg, Google Scholar, and national food composition tables other than USDA’s: not searched (October 2026).
The counts are of papers new in this search. Sources found before this search (such as USDA’s entries) were not counted again.
Each database was searched for the plant’s scientific and common names together with nutrient words (composition, nutrient, vitamin, mineral, fiber, protein and others), in titles and abstracts only. Papers that don’t name the plant there, and words not on the list (such as fat, energy and moisture), were missed unless another paper led to them; the AI researchers found some that way.
Found but not read (4)
- A preliminary evaluation of antioxidant compounds, reducing potential, and radical scavenging of pawpaw (Asimina tribloba) fruit pulp from different stages of ripeness Harris G.G., Brannan R.G. 2008; not read: paywalled
- Chemical fingerprinting as nutraceutical quality differentiation tool in Asimina triloba L. fruit pulp at different ripening stages: an old species for new health needs Donno D., Beccaro G.L., Mellano M.G., Cerutti A.K., Bounous G. 2014; not read: not online
- Analysis on nutrient components in fruits of introduced pawpaw varieties Zhai Xiaoqiao 2008; not read: not online
- Composition of pawpaw (Asimina triloba) fruit Peterson R.N., Cherry J.P., Simmons J.G. 1982; not read: not online
Collected in October 2026 by AI research agents, following written rules; the calendar’s figures were then checked independently.
Native or not
- Origin
- native
- Native range
- eastern North America
- Virginia invasive rank
- not listed
- Maryland invasive status
- not listed
Native or not, and the invader stars: what this means
Origin is where the plant comes from: native, non-native, or mixed (the harvest covers both). The stars rate plants on invasive plant lists: ★★★ Virginia DCR “High” or Maryland prohibited invasive · ★★ Virginia “Medium” · ★ Virginia “Low” · ☆ listed only by the Maryland Invasive Species Council or the Mid-Atlantic Plant Invaders guide (advisory) · no stars: native or not listed.
Virginia DCR, Virginia Invasive Plant Species List (effective September 2024), verbatim: "Under the DCR Invasive Species Assessment Protocol, approved by the Virginia Invasive Species Working Group, January 2024, species were ranked as exhibiting high, medium or low levels of invasiveness based on their threat to natural communities and native species. Invasiveness rank is higher for species that: • Alter ecosystem processes, such as succession, hydrology or fire regime. • Are capable of invading undisturbed natural communities. • Cause substantial impacts on rare or vulnerable species or natural communities or high-quality examples of more common communities. • Are found widely distributed and generally abundant where present. • Disperse readily to new areas. • Are difficult to control." The list also states: "The list is for educational purposes only and has no regulatory authority."
Maryland Department of Agriculture, Maryland Prohibited Invasive Plant Law and Regulations page, verbatim: "Plants on the Maryland Prohibited Invasive Plant List may not be added to stock after the effective date and should not be sold after their phase-out period ends."
No official DC invasive plant list was found.
How the ratings were set
- Find
- Common in the right habitat Estimate 4,030 = 3,670 research-grade iNaturalist sightings within 25 km + 84 needs-ID sightings counted in full (pawpaw is the only Asimina with research-grade sightings here) + 276 'cultivated' (planted) sightings (rule A); that is tier 1 by count (rule B). Rule C: none of its sources says it is common in, or a weed of, an everyday place (lawns, sidewalks, yards or gardens, vacant lots, towns), and DC’s street-tree inventory lists 47 living pawpaws, under the line of one per km of DC sidewalk (2,406), so it cannot be tier 1 (Everywhere). Final tier 2.
- Effort
- Grab & eat Cut the ripe fruit in half, spoon out the pulp and discard the skin and seeds; baking with the pulp or freezing it is optional extra work.
Find: what this means
1 Everywhere · 2 Common in the right habitat · 3 Patchy · 4 Elusive. This is about how much there is, not whether you may pick it. It is based on iNaturalist sightings within 25 km (about 15 miles) of downtown DC, counted on October 3, 2026. The four rules that each plant’s “Find” reason refers to: (A) the estimate is the confirmed sightings, plus the unconfirmed ones (scaled down where the plant has lookalikes in its genus), plus the sightings marked as planted; (B) the tier by estimate: 1,500 or more is tier 1, 250–1,499 tier 2, 50–249 tier 3, under 50 tier 4; (C) tier 1, Everywhere, also needs a source saying the plant is common in lawns, sidewalks, yards or gardens, vacant lots or towns, or at least one DC street tree of it per km of sidewalk, otherwise it is tier 2; (D) if a reliable source says the plant is rare in this region, or that wild plants rarely bear the harvest, only planted sightings count. iNaturalist is a website and phone app where people post photos of the plants and animals they see. A sighting is “research grade” when other users have confirmed what it is; “needs ID” sightings are not confirmed yet, and “cultivated” ones are marked as planted.
Effort: what this means
1 Grab & eat · 2 Quick kitchen prep (under about 30 minutes) · 3 Real work (hours, or cooking needed for safety) · 4 Project (days or equipment). Scored on the simplest worthwhile use; each plant’s page says why.
Sources
25 sources, each linked to the original.
- C&O Canal NHP Superintendent’s Compendium National Park ServiceBacks up: picking rules
- Rock Creek Park Superintendent’s Compendium National Park ServiceBacks up: picking rules
- Pawpaw FAQ Kentucky State University Pawpaw ProgramBacks up: description
- Pawpaw (HGIC factsheet) Clemson Cooperative ExtensionBacks up: description, uses, safety, storage, keeping
- DC street-tree inventory (DDOT Urban Forestry, UFA Street Trees layer): living trees by species, queried 2026-10-05 (47 living pawpaws) District of Columbia (DDOT Urban Forestry Division, via DC GIS)Backs up: findability
- iNaturalist research-grade observations of Asimina triloba within 25 km of downtown DC iNaturalistBacks up: findability
- Pawpaw (FoodLink produce sheet) Purdue Extension FoodLinkBacks up: keeping
- Fruit Leathers National Center for Home Food Preservation (Univ. of Georgia)Backs up: keeping
- USDA PLANTS Database: Asimina triloba (ASTR), native status USDA NRCSBacks up: native or invasive status
- Virginia Invasive Plant Species List (effective date: September 2024) Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation, Division of Natural HeritageBacks up: native or invasive status
- Maryland Prohibited Invasive Plant Law and Regulations (Maryland Prohibited Invasive Plant List, updated January 2026; additions effective July 15, 2026; 'Next Plants To Be Assessed' 2026-2027) Maryland Department of Agriculture, Plant Protection & Weed ManagementBacks up: native or invasive status
- Non-Native Invasive Terrestrial Plant Species in the State of Maryland (updates approved through the April 18, 2024 MISC meeting) Maryland Invasive Species CouncilBacks up: native or invasive status
- Plant Invaders of Mid-Atlantic Natural Areas, Field Guide (Swearingen & Fulton, 2022; successor to the NPS/USFWS 5th ed., 2017) Mid-Atlantic Invasive Plant Council / Passiflora Press (hosted by Bugwood/Mid-Atlantic Invaders Tool)Backs up: native or invasive status
- Invasive Plants in the District DC Department of Energy & EnvironmentBacks up: native or invasive status
- Wild Edibles of Missouri (Jan Phillips) Missouri Department of ConservationBacks up: safety, uses
- Pawpaw research-grade observations within 25 km of DC, by month (fruiting annotation) iNaturalistBacks up: season
- Pawpaw research-grade observations Maryland, Virginia and DC, by week (fruiting annotation) iNaturalistBacks up: season
- Pawpaw research-grade observations within 25 km of DC, with photos (fruiting annotation) iNaturalistBacks up: season
- Pawpaw: Small Tree, Big Impact National Park Service, National Capital RegionBacks up: season, description, habitat
- There’s Nothing Like Pawpaw Season C&O Canal TrustBacks up: season, description, habitat, picking rules
- Habichat: Paw-Paw Maryland Department of Natural ResourcesBacks up: season, description, habitat, safety
- Native Plant Profile: Favored Fruit Trees Maryland Department of Natural ResourcesBacks up: season, description, habitat, safety, uses, storage, picking rules
- Pawpaw Season Is Here. Where to Taste DC’s “Tropical” Fruit—and Pick Them (2024) WashingtonianBacks up: season, habitat, picking rules, uses, storage
- Pawpaw Recipes and Uses Kentucky State University Pawpaw ProgramBacks up: uses, storage, keeping
- Pawpaw Fruit in the Garden and the Kitchen Penn State ExtensionBacks up: uses, keeping